From Bear to Bare

From My Little Corner of The World

Grizzly Bear Charge in Jasper, Alberta & Topless Women in Kelowna, BC, Canada

You’ll have to watch for it, the first Grizzly Bear Charge is just 34 seconds in, from 90° to the right. This video, from a head camera, goes blurry for awhile, as Brad dove off the trail to his left. You’ll understand the video being a little bit shaky; sometimes the camera lens has a film of water – as Brad crashed through the underbrush. The sow (a female Grizzly) finally leads her cubs off at a distance, on the hill, at 3:08 minutes into the video. (“Personally, I feel and I think that feeding a Grizzly Bear family for the coming winter would be a good way to die.” ~ Uncle Stan)

First Published on Aug 4, 2013

“While mountain biking in Jasper, Alberta on August 4, 2013, my cousin Dan and I were charged by a grizzly sow three times.
We were riding single track just outside of Jasper town-site (9c) when the encounter occurred. I rode to the top of a hill and applied the brakes to wait for Dan and plan my descent. My brakes squealed a bit, then I heard a growl and looked to my right to see a grizzly bear charging at me.
After careening down the hill a bit on my bike, I was able to distance myself from the bear. According to Dan, who was subsequently charged, the sow stopped on the trail where I had been standing.
When Dan arrived on the scene, he created a distraction, which drew the bear to him. He managed to grab the bear spray from his bag in time to brace himself, but the bear stopped approximately 10 meters from him – just outside the spray’s effective range. Frankly, I’m glad we didn’t have to injure the mother in any way.
Meanwhile, I worked my way along the bottom of the gully toward Dan so that I wasn’t alone in the rough bush. As I reached him, the sow and her cub charged toward us slightly once more before heading away in the direction that we had come from.
We waited a few minutes, then walked away from the scene along the trail with bear spray in hand.”~ Dan

Website for Parks Canada – Jasper National Park.

PS: Years ago I became a member of the NSMB – North Shore Mountain Biking Club. I’ve not bothered to renew my membership as I have grown older, but I still follow many adventures. ~ Stan

PPS: On a totally unrelated topic – from bear to bare: More news from the this past weekend – Sunday, August 25, 2013 was International Go Topless Day, a celebration of equality that falls the day before Women’s Equality Day in the U.S. “Events on the special day are planned all over the US and other countries as well, encouraging women to bare their chests in public, and suggesting men cover theirs up with bras or bikinis to highlight the double standard.” Do you think Go Topless Day is a good way to celebrate equality between the sexes? (Please respond to the Petition of the Go Topless Day Organization) … “The idea behind the Go Topless movement is to promote gender equality,” said Lori Welbourne in her blog On A Brighter Note. In this YouTube video Lori Welbourne asks Walter Gray, the Mayor of Kelowna, (British Columbia, Canada) if it’s legal (for a woman) to be topless there. Yes, Alma, it is!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

Plus Ultra

Stories and photographs from places “further beyond”.

The Iris and the Lily

GAIA'S HEARTBEAT experience the pulsing earth in photos

Henry's Failed Experiments

A photography blog

Lens Cap

Casual glimpes into mundane suburbia

Places Unknown

Dmitrii Lezine's Places Unknown is fine art and travel photography from around the world. Enjoy!

Googsy Photography

My Favorite Clicks....

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

avant garden 365

a photo blog by terra rathai

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Idnaminomicon

Witty bitchicisms and assorted nonsense

The Truth Ache

The Life of A Mentally Ill Writer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Putney Farm

Get some good food. Cook it. Share with friends. Have a cocktail.

Melissa Writes of Passage

1 Family. 6 Languages. 10 Countries. 1 Writer. Always at Home.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

